Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord they God in vain.

So, you’re saying that I should not take your name in vain?

Absolutely!

At first, I think I understand this sentence, but then, the word vain starts waving a flag at me. Let’s look it up so we can agree that we are speaking of the same thing, fair enough?

Continue.

Okay. Basically, the Dic says:

1. excessively proud of or concerned about one’s own appearance, qualities, achievements, etc.; conceited: a vain dandy.

2. proceeding from or showing personal vanity: vain remarks.

3. ineffectual or unsuccessful; futile: a vain effort.

4. without real significance, value, or importance; baseless or worthless:vain pageantry; vain display.

5. Archaic . senseless or foolish.

And?

Well, when you say not to say your name in vain, what do you mean? For example: Do you mean to say that if I am an excessively proud person, concerned about my own appearance, qualities, achievements, that I shouldn’t speak your name?

Exactly.

Are you saying that most Christians are breaking this commandment? I mean, what if I was a proud person, but I was also proud of you, and went around trying to witness to people about your glory… what then? Would I be allowed to say your name under that set of circumstances?

Sounds reasonable.

Great! Thanks. This is working wonderfully. Do you see how really useful it is to understand what you’re trying to say?

Good. Shall we move on?

Yes, we shall. And, I hope you don’t mind, just before we do, I just want to tie up the loose ends here before we move forward to your next favourite, number 4. It’s just this: If my friend, Bob, told me not to take his name in vain, I honestly wouldn’t have a clue what he was talking about. What do you mean, Mr God?

Obviously I’m going to have to dumb this down for you… but, here goes: if you say good things about me, things that give me thanks and praise, that’s cool, you can say my name then. But if you’re talkin’ trash, you know, dissing me, as you’d probably say, that’s a no-no. Big time. I won’t stand for that –

Okay. It’s cool. You’re cool. Calm down. Breathe. Why not we move to number 4.

I thought you’d never ask!

(Next blog: Remember the Sabbath day to keep it Holy.)

© 2010 ORPS6